Carlos Monzon Stops Jose Napoles This Day February 9, 1974 and Retains Title
- Carlos Monzon 159¾ lbs
- Jose Napoles 153 lbs
- RTD at 3:00 in round 6 of 15
- Location: Puteaux, Hauts-de-Seine, France
- Referee: Raymond Baldeyrou
- WBA & WBC Middleweight Title
Carlos Monzon successfully defended his world middleweight title Saturday by beating welterweight champion Jose Napoles. The Argentine champion, using a 5 inch reach advantage and the power behind a 6 3/4 pound weight edge, pummeled Napoles viciously in the 5th and 6th rounds, then won the bout when the Cuban-born challenger who fights out of Mexico City failed to answer the bell for the 7th round of the scheduled 15 round fight. Napoles apeared unable to seriously threaten Monzon. It was only in the 1st round when he slipped a left jab through Monzon’s guard and twice scored with looping rights to the head that Napoles looked like he might seriously challenge Monzon.
Immediately after this bout Monzon, still in his boxing gear, hopped in a car and left for his hotel. The President of the French Boxing Federation, Bernard Restout, stated he would be filing a protest with the WBC for disciplinary action due to this action as Monzon was to immediately submit to the required post fight urinalysis. Monzon’s camp claimed that the trailer, provided to the fighters, hadn’t water or facilities and that Monzon preferred not to stop there for the test.
“Monzon sure knew how to use the thumb. The way Jose’s eye looked, there was not much else we could do.” -Phil Silver, cornerman of Napoles.
“He did it with his left hand, pushing my arm aside and shoving his thumb in my eye. It blinded me for the rest of the round.” -Jose Napoles, claiming the thumbing happened in the 6th round.
“The business about Monzon sticking a thumb in his eye is completely untrue; an excuse.” -Referee Raymond Baldayrou, on Napoles’ claim